Article Photo

Capturing our country

06 May 2015

Entries are now open for the annual New Zealand Geographic Photographic of the Year 2015, the country's most prestigious and respected photography competition.

New Zealand Geographic invites the country's best photographers, from amateur to professional, to submit photos celebrating the diversity of New Zealand through any or all of the five categories: Landscape, Wildlife, Society & Culture, PhotoStory and, for the first time, Timelapse.

This year's awards include Photographer of the Year, the Young Photographer award (entrants under the age of 21), People’s Choice award and Colour award sponsored by Resene.

Resene also sponsors the Landscape category, which was won last year by Dennis Radermacher for his breathtaking photo of a lonetree in Wanaka (pictured). 

To see other previous winning entries, as well as competition details and photography tips, visit

Entries close at midday Wednesday 15 July. 

Published: 06 May 2015