Article Photo

Tune in as this year’s NZIA Student Design Awards goes virtual

07 Dec 2021

Join Te Kāhui Whaihanga New Zealand Institute of Architects on Wednesday 15 December at 3pm for the announcement of the 2021 Te Kāhui Whaihanga Resene Student Design Awards. 

This year, due to Covid-19 restrictions, all finalists will be presenting their projects virtually, with the top architecture students of 2021 to be announced via a virtual presentation. 

The winners will be chosen from among 12 finalists – four students from each of New Zealand’s three schools of architecture: Victoria University of Wellington, Unitec and the University of Auckland. The finalists are in their final (fifth) year, and the presentation is a design project completed as part of their thesis year – and to be selected as the top student is an outstanding achievement.

This year's finalists are:

Te Whare Wānanga o Tāmaki Makaurau (The University of Auckland) School of Architecture and Planning

  • Maggie Hubert   
  • Rachael McKillop
  • Jingyuan Cindy Huang   
  • Marty Dow

Te Whare Wānanga o Wairaka (Unitec) School of Architecture

  • San Aung 
  • Rhia Churchwood
  • Sian Singh  
  • Khamis Shiblaq

Te Herenga Waka (Victoria University of Wellington) Wellington School of Architecture

  • William Creighton
  • Alice Reade
  • Maria Walker
  • Chris Ghandi

The winner and two highly commended awards will be announced by Te Kāhui Whaihanga President Judi Keith-Brown, who heads the judging panel.

NZIA members should keep an eye on their inboxes for the link to take part in the virtual presentation or check out the BlackWhite blog later this month as we announce the winners.

Published: 07 Dec 2021